History of the Grenville…
The Grenville Hotel at 345 Main Avenue is a Grande Dame of summer hotels from the late Nineteenth Century on Barnegat Island. Situated on land purchased by Anna Nunemaker for $400 in 1886, the hotel dates back to 1890, and was built by Wycoff Applegate, builder of the Bay Head Yacht Club.
In 1922, the hotel was sold to Nellie Georgette who renamed it the Georgette Hotel until 1945 when it was sold to The Grenville Corporation. A fire destroyed the Grenville Arms located on the same block, and The Georgette was re-named The Grenville. In 1956, the Spurgat Family purchased the building. It continued its journey as a Summer Hotel, where many fond memories of summer vacations at The Grenville were created. In 1987, the building was given new life when purchased by Joseph P. Milza of the Renault Winery. It took a year to renovate it into a stunning hotel with twenty nine rooms, including five suites, private showers, central air and heat, and the only elevator in Bay Head.
In November of 2003, Harry and Renee Typaldos were looking for an ocean front beach house. They saw a photo of the building online and fell in love with it! On their first visit for lunch, they decided to purchase the Grenville. On April 7th, 2004, just a few days before Eater, they took over The Grenville. Numerous improvements and modern touches continue to be made for their guests comfort.
The Grenville has celebrated its 125th Birthday and continues to be the Grand Victorian Lady of the Jersey Shore. Through much dedication and hard work the Grenville Hotel & Restaurant continues to win awards for its fine food and hospitality. The Grenville Stands as a proud tribute to a bygone era, and is recognized by the Bay Head Historical Society for its preservations.
The Staff at The Grenville wish you a memorable stay!